Massive swing to SNP sees O’Hara take Argyll and Bute

SNP candidate Brendan O’Hara won the Argyll and Bute seat as his party dominated Scottish constituencies in the 2015 General Election.

With a turnout of 75.41%, he received 22.959 votes, ahead of Alan Reid, who had held the seat since 2001.

Mr Reid actually received slightly more votes than in 2010, but the SNP vote increased by a remarkable 268%.

The full results are:

Mary Galbraith, Scottish Labour Party – 5,394

Brendan O’Hara, Scottish National Party – 22,959

Alastair Redman, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party – 7,733

Alan Reid, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 14,486

Caroline Santos, UK Independence Party – 1,311

The result was formally declared at 5.40 today, Friday May 8.

The total electorate for Argyll and Bute was 68,875 with Mr O’Hara receiving 44% of the 51,939 votes cast.

A total of 59 votes were rejected for a number of reasons. None were rejected due to lack of an official mark; seven were rejected for voting in favour of more than one candidate; one included writing or a mark by which the voter could be identified and 51 were unmarked or void for certainty.

Alongside postal votes and proxies, votes made their way across Argyll and Bute in ballot boxes transported by car, boat, and helicopter to be counted at Lochgilphead Joint Campus.

Returning officer Sally Loudon said: “Argyll and Bute’s diverse geography means we have to consider the logistics of a major count very carefully.

“We have a very experienced team who are well used to organising the transportation of ballot boxes by air, land and sea. The knowledge and experience of our election team is backed up by careful planning and a well-established process.

“Everything went extremely smoothly despite the unique challenges involved in administering a count on this scale. I would like to thank everyone involved for ensuring that Argyll and Bute’s UK general election count went so well.”

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. In their own words: 2017 General Election candidates in Argyll and Bute – The Lochside Press

Comments are closed.