Youth achievers are honoured

The winners of the AB Awards for youth achievement were announced at a sparkling ceremony in Oban, last week, attended by young people and their families from all over Argyll and Bute.

The AB Awards is a partnership project between Argyll and Bute Youth Forum and the council’s Youth Services and is intended to help counter the negative way in which young people are sometimes portrayed in the media.

Council leader Roddy McCuish said: ‘The AB Awards highlight all the positive things young people in Argyll and Bute are doing, and we should make sure everyone knows about them.

“I’d like to congratulate all of the winners and all of the young people who received nominations.

“They have demonstrated how important it is to care about and take an active part in our communities, and are an example to us all.”

The 2013 winners are as follows:

  • Unsung Hero:  Megan Foster, 15, Helensburgh
  •  Youth Entrepreneur Award:  Leanne Goodall, 18, Lochgilphead
  • Youth Volunteering Award: Sarah Nicolson, 16, Lochgilphead
  • Health and Wellbeing: Islay High Film Group, 13 -17, Islay
  • Youth Environment Award: Peter Tyler, 14, Tarbert
  • Youth Citizenship Award:  Katie Burke, 16, Helensburgh
  • Youth Sporting Award: Robert Miller, 14, Dunoon
  • Youth Arts Award: John Anthony Graham, 17, Helensburgh

For details of each of the young winners and information on all of the nominees go to

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Award Ceremony | Argyll & Bute Communities

Comments are closed.