Council election results

Tory Maurice Corry and Independent George Freeman and Robert Macintyre   have won the three Lomond North seats on Argyll and Bute Council in yesterday’s elections

Unsuccessful candidates for the Lomond North Ward were Danny Kelly, an Independent member since 2003, Susie Will, Labour’s Fiona Howard and the SNP’s Kenneth Smith.

The Helensburgh Central places went to Independent Vivien Dance, Lib Dem Aileen Morton, Tory Gary Mulvaney and the SNP’s James Robb.

In the Helensburgh & Lomond South ward Lib Dem Ellen Morton, Tory David Kinniburgh and the SNP’s Richard Trail were successful.

Elsewhere in Argyll and Bute, Duncan Macintyre, who was the authority’s representative on SPT before the election, retained his seat in Oban North and Lorn.

The final result for the council is Lib Dem 4, SNP 12, Independent 13, Conservative 4 – but the Dunoon election will take place next week (Thursday 10 May). It remains to be seen of course, how the various ‘Independents’ will align in the council chamber.

Full election results to date for Argyll and Bute Council are here.

Turnout across the council area was estimated at 47.7% by the BBC – in 2007 it was 56.52%. Full results from the 2007 election are here: Argyll and Bute Council Results 2007

In the Glasgow City Council elections, Liberal Democrat group leader Paul Coleshill – who represented Kilcreggan on Argyll and Bute Council from 1999-2003- lost his seat to a Green candidate.

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Island Princess back in action | The Lochside Press
  2. New leadership named for council | The Lochside Press
  3. Fly the flag and write off debts, say SNP councillors | The Lochside Press

Comments are closed.